Tags

, ,

 

Harry and Barnes sailing

Harry and Barnes sailing

Effie recounted how inquisitive people were being handled by family and friends and dubbed their engagement “The Romance of the Elevated Rail Road.” The Aunt Electa she mentioned was Harry’s father’s sister. She also told Harry for the first time what she was feeling when he proposed.

Harry described his sailing expedition with Professor Barnes and explained his relationships with the two other women with whom he corresponded.

“Unless I admire a person I feel that I haven’t time to keep up this visiting back & forth.” Osborn, Effie 1884-10-5

I shall tell you about all my money matters for I want you to know all about me from “every standpoint….” Osborn, Henry 1884-10-5

********************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1356 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

