Tags

, ,

Harry's drawing of a springtail

Harry’s drawing of a springtail

Both of Effie’s letters focused on her mother’s situation, with the second one giving details of Effie’s meeting with Miss B. In the first, she also wrote about visiting the Watts collection with Harry’s sister Mag.

In another news-filled letter, Harry wrote about his collecting expedition with Professor Barnes and his carriage ride with Miss Weed and her friend to see the Tippecanoe Battlefield.

“…I finally believe that mamma has been literally out of her mind at times.” Osborn, Effie 1885-4-12a

“Oh she is smart I can tell you, & would have fooled me if I hadn’t been prepared for her, but I went over determined that she shouldn’t cast any spell over me.” Osborn, Effie 1885-4-12b

“I had a letter from Mag today.  She spoke of my Effie in such a lovely way & told me one thing that is true[,] that I should write cheerful letters & brace you up_ and I will after this.” Osborn, Henry 1885-4-12

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1356 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

