Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Both of Harry’s letters were filled with laments about his difficult lot and how it would be even worse if Effie tried to help Rem. In the first, he blamed Effie’s mother for working against them. In the second, he covered other subjects, such as the plans to stay at the current house, the Cousin Gus situation, a compliment from Dr. Smart and the possibility of receiving more pay the following school year.

“I am nervous so that I am ashamed to attempt to demonstrate anything to my students my hands tremble so.” Osborn, Henry 1885-4-19a

“It is an utter impossibility for me with my nature to take things easy. I take everything hard[,] pleasure & pain alike. Osborn, Henry 1885-4-19b

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1356 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

