Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Harry wrote a rather crabby letter to Effie after finishing one to her mother. Effie, on the other hand, was happy thinking about how supportive Harry’s family seemed now and about good news regarding her mother’s claim against Cousin Gus.

“…I think that you both think that I am a sort of goose to feel as I do about it.” Osborn, Henry 1885-5-20

“Perhaps she wont like me tho’, and then she’ll wonder how you could fall in love with such a stupid uninteresting girl who wasn’t even pretty, freckled face & crooked teeth, and crooked nose and little nearsighted eyes, to say nothing of “a mincing gait” caused by wearing french heels, but I hope she will like me, tho’ I’m sure I dont know why she should.” Osborn, Effie 1885-5-20

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1356 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

