Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Although Harry was feeling happier, he still wrote mostly about his need for Effie and her letters. In the first letter today, he touched again on his family’s dynamics and how understanding that would help Effie to understand him. In his second letter, he wrote of his friend Lee’s situation, a loving couple whom he had met, and his cousin Mame Hays’ wedding.

“I wrote you Effie every thing I felt & so I got out all the hardness & put the tenderest feeling in its place.” Osborn, Henry 1885-6-4a

“The few things I want I want bad & you & your letters I want as I never wanted anything before & I cant do a thing with myself.” Osborn, Henry 1885-6-4b

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1356 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

