Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Harry and Effie’s pens were active today.

Harry’s first letter started as a love letter and later turned to his piano practicing, speciman collecting, and reading. In the second, he revealed why he didn’t like a portion of one of Effie’s letters and he accepted her explanation for why her mother hadn’t written him.

Effie described attacks of illness in her first letter. The second dealt entirely with the misunderstanding about the size of their wedding. And, in the third, she covered her frugal upbringing, his blues, and her willingness to marry at Christmas, if he thought it was best.

“They are forever with the word can’t on their tongues end & unless their work is made easy & entertaining they are all in the dumps.” Osborn, Henry 1885-10-11a

“I can’t tell you why I get so annoyed everytime Mr. Schenck is mentioned for I don’t know him but so it is.” Osborn, Henry 1885-10-11b

“I had quite a scene all by myself, and after hanging over the basin till I had disposed of what seemed to be in my way, I was pretty well exhausted, and crawled into bed.” Osborn, Effie 1885-10-11a

“I felt this way because I must say that I am not perfectly wild over my near relatives.” Osborn, Effie 1885-10-11b

“Even your mother, who says you are only “a third rate teacher,” believes in you.” Osborn, Effie 1885-10-11c

 

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1536 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

