Tags

, , ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Effie expressed her appreciation of Harry’s birthday present and gave him advice on dealing with his Aunt Mag.

In his first letter, Harry wrote about his impressions of Purdue’s student societies. Miss Elder’s replacement and Mrs. Stockton’s breakfasts were topics in the second.

“I haven’t a watch, and some time you can make me happy by giving me one, but I dont want you to do it now.” Osborn, Effie 1886-3-13

“Last evening I attended the meeting of one of the Literary (?) societies[,] The Irving society.” Osborn, Henry 1886-3-13a

“One would hardly suppose from my oriental ease that I was grinding out a French zoological.” Osborn, Henry 1886-3-13b

 

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1536 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

 

 

