Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Both of Harry’s letters concentrated on the results of the Purdue trustees’ meeting.

Effie wrote mostly about performing at an upcoming literary event at Bessie Stoddart’s.

“The board of trustees met & vanished as I said but I haven’t yet had a chance to talk with Dr Smart about their proceedings.”Osborn, Henry 1886-3-23a

“Then he went on to say further that they kept me more for the value of my reputation than for the actual value of zoology in the college course.” Osborn, Henry 1886-3-23b

“She wanted me to play a solo, which honor I declined with thanks.  If you please there are 50 members, and I would have a fit and step in it.” Osborn, Effie 1886-3-23

 

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1536 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

