Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

In her first letter, Effie explained why she hadn’t written the day before. She also wrote about a shopping expedition. She teased Harry a bit in her second letter for making her think her letters weren’t important to him but she also thanked him for his suggestion to get letters of reference from her clients.

Harry wrote more about his job prospects and described what needed to be done to make his room at Purdue ready to share with Effie.

“Perfect quiet was all I needed, and you have often said, when I felt so that you’d rather go without your letter if I’d only rest.” Osborn, Effie 1886-5-11a

“I wonder what you will think about the wedding dress.” Osborn, Effie 1886-5-11b

“I think that it looks very likely that Dr Smart will however find enough here for me to do & I thought he already felt some of the feeling you spoke of[,] the stronger desire to keep me now he sees some prospect of my leaving.” Osborn, Henry 1886-5-11

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1536 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

