Tags

, ,

Henry and Effie Osborn at home

Henry and Effie Osborn

Effie was stressed because of her mother’s demands on her time. In both her letters, she wrote about the position at Amherst that Harry had been recommended for. In the first, she responded to Harry’s concerns about the room that they would share at Purdue and, in the second, she described the connections between her piano students.

Harry’s letter was mainly about letters, though he made time to discuss his thoughts on teaching evolution.

“I cant make things satisfactory all around, and my life is really miserable.” Osborn, Effie 1886-5-13a

“I hope mamma is all right again, but I have got to be very careful, for I dont want to make her feel badly during the short time there is left, for she feels blue enough over it, and we have simply got to consider her feelings now, even if it costs us a sacrifice, and so I am going to make my letters next week much shorter than usual.” Osborn, Effie 1886-5-13b

“I hear Marine often & enjoy his spiritual teaching.  It is what I go for and it helps me & I let the part I dont want alone.” Osborn, Henry 1886-5-13

 

******************************************************************

The University Archives at Hamline University collects and preserves university records, publications, photographs, audio recording, moving images, artifacts, and other materials from the university’s early days in Red Wing to its present in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

The Henry L. Osborn and Family Papers are owned by Hamline University and may not be published or extensively quoted without the written consent of the Hamline University Archives (Hamline University, 1536 Hewitt Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55104; 651-523-2080; archives@hamline.edu).

